Late Have I Loved You

 

Late Have I Loved You

Late Have I loved You
O beauty every ancient, ever new !
Late have I loved You
And behold,
You were within and I without,
and without I sought You .
And deformed I ran after these forms
of beauty You have made .

You were with me
And I was not with You .
Those things held me back from You,
things whose only being
was to be in You .

You called, You cried
and You broke through my deafness.
You flashed, You shone
and You chased away my blindness .
You became fragrant
and I inhaled and I sighed for You .

I tasted
and now hunger and thirst
for You .

You touched me
and I burned for Your embrace .

~ St Augustine of Hippo .

Leave a Reply

